Skip to content

Fair Housing & Equal Opportunity

Rockford Area REALTORS® fully supports and adheres to the principles of the Fair Housing Act (Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968).

The Fair Housing Act generally prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents of legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and handicap (disability).

In addition, the Rockford Area REALTORS® also supports and adheres to Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act, which prohibits discrimination against persons with disabilities in places of public accommodations and commercial facilities and The Equal Credit Opportunity Act, which makes discrimination unlawful with respect to any aspect of a credit application on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, age or because all or part of the applicant’s income derives from any public assistance program.

If You Suspect Discrimination
Contact the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Fair Housing Office.

By Phone


By Mail
Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Room 5204
451 Seventh St. SW
Washington, DC 20410-2000